Freedom Oil & Gas - Our Company

Our Company

Board of Directors

J. Michael Yeager

Executive Chairman & Chief Executive Officer

Michael Yeager joined the Company as Chief Executive Officer and Executive Chairman in October 2013 with the objective of building a substantial oil and gas production company, beyond Maverick’s initial assets. With over 34 years of executive level experience in the oil and gas business, Mr. Yeager has a strong international petroleum background and a deep development and operating understanding.

Mr. Yeager was the CEO of BHP Billiton Petroleum from 2006 – 2013. Previously he was at ExxonMobil, where he held various global executive roles, including Vice President of ExxonMobil Development Company, and Vice President – Africa, and Vice President – Europe for ExxonMobil Production Company. He held the position of CEO for the ExxonMobil Canadian affiliate, Imperial Oil Resources, where he was responsible for all aspects of their upstream oil and gas business. While at Mobil Corporation, he was President of Mobil Exploration and Producing, U.S. and performed key roles in the merger with Exxon.

Mr. Yeager holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the U.S. Naval Academy and a Master of Science degree from the University of Southern California.

Roger Brian Clarke

Vice Chairman – Independent Non-executive Director

Mr. Clarke has over thirty years commercial experience in the investment banking industry, with responsibilities in fund management, banking and corporate finance. He is chairman of the advisory board of Morgans Financial Limited, and has been involved in a significant number of initial public offerings, capital raisings and corporate transactions. His understanding of the Australian corporate finance sector brings a level of expertise that has proved pivotal in establishing the strategic investment focus of Maverick. He holds a bachelor of commerce degree from the University of Auckland, New Zealand and is a Chartered Accountant.

Lee Anthony Clarke

Independent Non-executive Director

Mr. Clarke is the principal and director of a private financial advisory and wealth management firm. He has over twenty years of financial planning and wealth management experience, advising a select group of successful families and private investors. During his career, he has been involved in capital raisings and initial public offerings and brings strategic knowledge of the Australian investor market. He is a Certified Financial Planner and a principal member of the Financial Planning Association.

Joseph Charles Camuglia

Independent Non-executive Director

Mr. Camuglia has more than twenty-five years experience as a Chartered Accountant and Certified Financial Planner. He started his career with Price Waterhouse as an accountant and in 1990 established his own wealth management business which he developed into one of the largest Hillross Financial businesses in Australia. He holds a bachelor of business from Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia, and a Diploma of Financial Planning from Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia.

Nigel H. Smith

Independent Non-executive Director

Mr. Smith has over 35 years of experience in the oil and gas industry with senior management roles in engineering, project management, drilling operations and acquisitions. After a long career with Shell, ARCO (Atlantic Richfield Company) and BHP Billiton Petroleum, he has held numerous global executive roles, and he also has extensive experience in the U.S. onshore horizontal drilling and fracing operations. Mr. Smith holds a BSc Hons degree from Nottingham University, England.


Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.